Has any Love Island winner taken the full prize money?


LOVE Island is almost over for another year.

But before the famous villa closes its doors for the summer, one lucky couple will scoop £50,000 – but it could all be won by just one person.

Love Island sees one lucky couple win the show every year

Has any Love Island winner taken the full prize money?

After the winning couple is announced the pair choose an envelope each – one says £50K and one says £0.

The person who wins the money envelope can either choose to split the cash with their other half, or keep all the money for themselves.

So far all of the winners from the previous six seasons have chosen love and decided to halve the £50K.

There hasn’t been one person in the show’s history who has opted to take all the money for themselves.

Who has won Love Island?

2020 – Paige Turley and Finn Tapp

Paige Turley and Finn Tapp are the Love Island 2020 winter winners

The couple were announced as the first winners of 2020 after falling in love on the new winter addition.

The pair beat runners-up Luke Trotman and Siânnise Fudge to win the show.

They are set to move to Manchester with their prize of £50,000.

The pair stuck together throughout the show and didn’t have their heads turned once.

2019 – Greg O’Shea and Amber Gill

AMber and Greg won Love Island 2019

Greg O’Shea and Amber Gill won Love Island 2019

The professional rugby player and the beauty therapist were crowned the winners of series five choosing to split the £50,000 prize.

Tommy Fury and Molly-Mae Hague were the runners up followed by third place Ovie Soko and India Reynolds, and Curtis Pritchard and Maura Higgins in fourth place.


Unfortunately the couple split via text just five weeks after receiving the prize.

2018 – Jack Fincham and Dani Dyer

Dani Dyer and Jack Fincham met on Love Island over the summer and were an instant hit

The couple won last year’s Love Island – as well as the hearts of the public – but despite seeming to be the perfect match they called off their union in April 2019.

Jack revealed he and Dani had split just months after rekindling their relationship.

He made the announcement on Instagram and asked for fans’ to be “understanding”.

🌴 Read our Love Island 2021 live blog for the latest updates

2017 – Kem Cetinay and Amber Davies

The 2017 winners Kem and Amber only lasted 132 days before calling it a day

Kem and Amber split after just 132 days of dating after a string of rows – despite saying they might get married.

They may not have found enduring love but they haven’t done too badly as they have both earned more than £1 million since leaving the villa.

Amber can be found in West End musical 9 to 5, while Kem is a presenter on This Morning.

2016 – Nathan Massey and Cara De La Hoyde

Parents Nathan and Cara have rekindled their romance and now have a baby

The winners from 2016 had a brief seven month split in 2017 but reunited a few weeks before Cara was due to give birth.

They welcomed their first child Freddie-George in December 2017 and the couple are still married in 2020.

2015 – Jessica Hayes and Max Morley

Jessica and Max pied their relationship after leaving the show

The first winners of the reboot of the show split just six weeks after leaving the villa.

Max went on to date Charlotte Crosby but ended their fling after she was caught on Snapchat kissing ex-boyfriend Gary Beadle on a boozy night out.

He bounced back quickly and started dating the then Miss Great Britain, 2016’s Zara Holland.

And more recently he’s had an on-off romance with 2018 runner-up Laura Anderson.

When is the Love Island 2021 final?

The Love Island final will be on Monday, August 23, 2021 at 9pm on ITV2.

The final will be hosted by Love Island host, Laura Whitmore and will see her announce the winners of the Love Island 2021 series

Usually, Love Island airs for eight weeks. In 2018, the format was extended from seven after it became so popular.