100 Wannabe Labour MPs in pledge to back Remain and defy Jeremy Corbyn


JEREMY Corbyn is facing a red revolt over Brexit as more than 100 wannabe Labour MPs pledge to back Remain.

The candidates are willing to defy their boss if there is a second vote on our EU divorce – even if the party backs Leave.

Jeremy Corbyn is facing a red revolt over Brexit as more than 100 wannabe Labour MPs pledge to back Remain

Code –


One hundred and twelve hopefuls, including dozens who have previously been MPs, are on the list, the Daily Mail reports.

Ex-ministers like Margaret Beckett, Maria Eagle and Ben Bradshaw, plus recent Speaker candidate Chris Bryant are among the names.

While more junior former MPs including Tulip Siddiq and Rosie Duffield are also on the list.

Ealing candidate Rupa Huq tweeted the anti-Brexit pledge by activist group, Remain Labour last night.

It says: Labour is committed to a confirmatory referendum, to give you a final say on Brexit.

If elected as your Labour MP, I pledge to campaign to Remain in the EU.

Mr Corbyn, a life-long Euro-sceptic, has faced continued criticism for his partys muddled Brexit policy.

If he reaches No10, Mr Corbyn plans broker a credible deal with Brussels and versus remaining in the EU.


Under the Leave option, the leftie-boss says he will spend months negotiating a new deal for the UK to stay an EU customs union and retain a close single market relationship.

He will then put both options back to the public with a second referendum – but has yet to say how the party would campaign.

Andrew Lewin, founder of Remain Labour, said: ‘Remain voters want to vote for the Labour Party with confidence at this election.

‘Our pledge will help candidates in England, Scotland and Wales to underline that the Labour Party is the strongest Remain Alliance in the country.’

The move from the 112 hopefuls comes after a Labour candidate vowed to back a Remain campaign.

Dr Rosena Allin-Khan hit the campaign trail in Tooting with placards saying Vote Rosena, vote Remain’.

She posted on Twitter: Out on the campaign trail with an amazing @tootinglabour team!

Our new correx boards arrived today, my message is clear: Vote Rosena, Vote Remain!

Here is a list of all 112 Labour candidates that have backed Remain Labour:

  • Rushanara Ali, Bethnal Green and Bow
  • Rosena Allin-Khan, Tooting
  • Tonia Antoniazzi, Gower
  • Margaret Beckett, Derby South
  • Karen Buck, Westminster North
  • Ben Bradshaw, Exeter
  • Kevin Brennan, Cardiff West
  • Chris Bryant, Rhondda
  • Ruth Cadbury, Brentford and Isleworth
  • Bambos Charalambos, Enfield Southgate
  • Emma Dent Coad, Kensington
  • Janet Daby, Lewisham East
  • Geraint Davies, Swansea West
  • Alexandra Davies-Jones, Pontypridd
  • Thangam Debbonaire, Bristol West
  • Marsha de Cordova, Battersea
  • Anneliese Dodds, Oxford East
  • David Drew, Stroud
  • Stephen Doughty, Cardiff South and Penarth
  • Rosie Duffield, Canterbury
  • Maria Eagle, Garston and Halewood
  • Chris Elmore, Ogmore
  • Vicky Foxcroft, Lewisham Deptford
  • Preet Kaur Gill, Birmingham Edgbaston
  • Kate Green, Stretford and Urmston
  • Lilian Greenwood, Nottingham South
  • John Grogan, Keighley
  • Fabian Hamilton, Leeds North East
  • Helen Hayes, Dulwich and West Norwood
  • Rupa Huq, Ealing and Central Acton
  • Darren Jones, Bristol North West
  • Susan Jones, Clwyd South
  • Ged Killen, Rutherglen and Hamilton West
  • Peter Kyle, Hove
  • David Lammy, Tottenham
  • Sandy Martin, Ipswich
  • Rachael Maskell, York Central
  • Kerry McCarthy, Bristol East
  • Siobhain McDonagh, Mitcham and Morden
  • Alison McGovern, Wirral South
  • Catherine McKinnell, Newcastle upon Tyne North
  • Anna McMorrin, Cardiff North
  • Ian Murray, Edinburgh South
  • Madeleine Moon, Bridgend
  • Stephen Morgan, Portsmouth South
  • Mathew Pennycook, Greenwich and Woolwich
  • Jess Phillips, Birmingham Yardley
  • Luke Pollard, Plymouth Sutton and Devonport
  • Steve Reed, Croydon North
  • Ellie Reeves, Lewisham West and Penge
  • Matt Rodda, Reading East
  • Tulip Siddiq, Hampstead and Kilburn
  • Andy Slaughter, Hammersmith
  • Jeff Smith, Manchester Withington
  • Karin Smyth, Bristol South
  • Alex Sobel, Leeds North West
  • Wes Streeting, Ilford North
  • Paul Sweeney, Glasgow North East
  • Jo Stevens, Cardiff Central
  • Gareth Thomas, Harrow West
  • Anna Turley, Redcar
  • Catherine West, Hornsey and Wood Green
  • Matt Western, Warwick and Leamington
  • Martin Whitfield, East Lothian
  • Phil Wilson, Sedgefield
  • Daniel Zeichner, Cambridge
  • Marina Ahmad, Beckenham
  • Callum Anderson, South West Bedfordshire
  • Fleur Anderson, Putney
  • Rosa Bolger, Witney
  • Kevin Bonavia, Clacton
  • Giles Bridge, Ribble Valley
  • James Bull, South East Cambridgeshire
  • Dr. Zahid Chauhan, Cheadle
  • Sarah Church, Swindon South
  • Karen Davis, Norwich North
  • Pam Duncan-Glancy, Glasgow North
  • Rachel Eden, Reading West
  • Martin Edobor, Witham
  • Flo Eshalomi, Vauxhall
  • Jon Fisher, North Wiltshire
  • Sheila Gilmore, Edinburgh East
  • Dan Greef, South Cambridgeshire
  • Faten Hameed, Glasgow Central
  • Andrew Hilland, Lanark and Hamilton East
  • Cara Hilton, Dunfmeline and West Fife
  • Ross Houston, Finchley and Golders Green
  • Mark Huband, North East Somerset
  • Simon Jeal, Orpington
  • Peter Lamb, Crawley
  • Robert Logan, Thornbury and Yate
  • Seamus McCauley, Sevenoaks
  • Martin McCluskey, Inverclyde
  • Annette Medhurst, Wokingham
  • Ed Murphy, North West Cambridgeshire
  • David Morgan, Buckingham
  • Gordon Munro, Edinburgh North
  • Chris Ostrowski, Watford
  • Anna Perrett, York Outer
  • Cheryl Pidgeon, Rushcliffe
  • Charlynne Pullen, Milton Keynes North
  • Moira Ramage, Paisley and Renfrewshire
  • Bell Ribeiro-Addy, Streatham
  • Jonny Roberts, Wantage
  • Steffie Williams Roberts, Afron
  • Rachael Ross, Devizes
  • Jackie Schneider, Wimbledon
  • Peter Shearman, Windsor
  • Antony Tucker, Kenilworth and Southam
  • Matt Uberoi, Chelsea and Fulham
  • Chris Vince, Hertford and Stortford
  • Nadia Whittome, Nottingham East
  • Emma Whysall, Chipping Barnet
  • Mary Wimbury, Wrexham

Chris Bryant is among the MPs willing to defy Mr Corbyn and back Remain