Far Cry games in order: By release date and timeline

far cry

FAR CRY puts the player in the wilderness in which they must fight despots and survive the wild animals that creep among the trees.

Here we tell you the release order of the games in the series, their chronological order and any spin-off games which were made.

Far Cry games release order

In this section, we are going to give you a brief about each Far Cry game that is in the series.

Far Cry

Platforms: PC, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox 360, Xbox X/S Series

The game was first released on March 23, 2004, and was developed by German studio Crytek GmbH.

The player is Jack Carver, an ex-Special Forces who is trying to survive on a tropical island which has turned into hell.

He ended up on the island when he took his journalist friend Van to the island of Micronesia to discover the ruins of World War Two.

Far Cry shows the post-apocalyptic world whereas the other Far Cry games show the process of it

Far Cry 2

Platforms: PC, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360

Ubisoft had promoted this game to be the sequel of the first instalment, but the game released on October 21, 2008 is quite different from that.

In this game the first-person shooter is an unnamed fictional East African country that is facing a civil war.

The soldier must fight in locations such as the desert, the savannah and the jungle and has several weapons to do so such as pistols, assault rifles and rocket launchers.

This game starts setting the scene for the first Far Cry.

It is set in 2008 and starts showing the story of how the world ended up facing an apocalypse.

From this game onwards, all games are set in the year that they were released.

Far Cry 3

Platforms: PC, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Xbox 360

Since this game was released on November 29, 2012, the game is set in that year too.

In this game, James Brody is leading a revolution against Vaas, his pirates and slave trader Hoyt Volker on the fictional Rook Islands.

The players have missions and objectives to finish and they can do so with the use of the various weapons available such as land mines and sniper rifles.

James ended up on the island while he was on holiday with his friends to celebrate his younger brother Riley getting a pilot’s licence.

They land on the island through skydiving and the pirates plan to sell them into slavery.

Far Cry 4

Platforms: PC, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Xbox 360

Released on November 18, 2014, this game takes place in the fictional country of Kyrat that has had its government overthrown and is still in suffering.

The player is Ajay Ghale, who is trying to spread the ashes of his mother across Kyrat after he had been missing from the country for 20 years.

Ajay now seeks to try and get out of the miserable situation that his country is in together with the people involved in the rebel movement that his father Mohan Ghale once started.

Far Cry 5

Platforms: PC, PlayStation 4, Xbox One

Far Cry 5 is considered to be one of the best in the series and it was released on March 27, 2018.

It is set in the fictional Hope County, Montana and it introduces dangerous and somewhat crazy religious cults.

The violent religious cult introduced is Eden’s Gate which is led by Joseph Seed and he says that God showed him a vision of Earth being burned because of mankind’s corruption.

This cult is preparing for the apocalypse while around the world there are severe terrorist attacks taking place and the relations between the United States, North Korea and the Middle East are getting worse.

The first nuclear attack takes place in September 2018 and this is the start of The Collapse.

Far Cry 6

Platforms: PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S

This game was released on October 7, 2021, and it’s set in the fictional Caribbean state of Yara.

Yara is under a dictatorship by “El Presidente” Anton Castillo and the player, Dani Rojas, will be a rebel against such government.

Dani must try and fight Castillo and take down his leadership, or else he can escape the island and Yara will fall back under the cruel dictatorship while Dani lies on the beach in Miami.

Far Cry timeline order

After the first installment, each Far Cry was set in the year that it was released in.

So the chronological order of the games would be:

  • Far Cry 2 – 2008
  • Far Cry 3 – 2012
  • Far Cry 4 – 2014
  • Far Cry 5 – 2018
  • Far Cry 6 – 2021
  • Far Cry – 2025

What are the Far Cry spin-off games?

Far Cry had many spin-off games created which were made available on console and virtual reality.

These are:

  • Far Cry Instincts (2005)
  • Far Cry Instincts: Evolution (2006)
  • Far Cry Instincts: Predator (2006)
  • Far Cry Vengeance (2006)
  • Paradise Lost (2007)
  • Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon (2013)
  • Far Cry Primal (2016)
  • Far Cry New Dawn (2019)
  • Far Cry VR: Dive Into Insanity (2021)