FNAF games in order: By release date and chronological timeline order


FIVE Nights at Freddy’s (FNAF) is a point and click survival horror video game developed by Scott Cawthon.

The aim of the game is to survive five nights at Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza without getting caught and stuffed into a mascot costume – ultimately, getting killed by the other characters.

Five Nights at Freddy’s (FNAF) is an American video game created by Scott Cawthon

This is done by tracking their movements via the restaurant’s security cameras.

Unfortunately, there’s also a power shortage that gives you only a limited amount of energy during the night, energy which you’ll have to cleverly conserve and use only when you need it the most.

With each night survived, the robots get way more active reaching your room more often.

Based on how much money the player earns on their pay check, it’s implied that the game takes place in 1993 and beyond.

The concept is similar to that of the 2006 comedy film, Night at the Museum.

In both stories, the attractions act as expected during the day, come to life during the night, and both protagonists are night guards who work for security at the establishments.

FNAF games release order

  • Five Nights at Freddy’s (2014)
  • Five Nights at Freddy’s 2 (2014)
  • FNAF 3 (2015)
  • FNAF 4 (2015)
  • Five Nights at Freddy’s: Sister Location (2016)
  • Freddy Fazbear’s Pizzeria Simulator (2017)
  • Five Nights at Freddy’s: Help Wanted (2019)
  • FNAF: Special Delivery (2019)
  • Five Nights at Freddy’s: Security Breach (2021)

FNAF games in chronological timeline order

The FNAF universe can be quite complicated with not much of a concrete timeline for some games.

The instalments tend to jump around time with hallucinations and visions that are canon to the universe.

  1. Five Nights at Freddy’s 4 (set in 1983)
  2. FNAF 2 (1987)
  3. Five Nights at Freddy’s Sister Location (the early 1990s or late 1980s)
  4. FNAF (1993)
  5. FNAF 3 (set in 2023)
  6. Freddy Fazbear’s Pizzeria Simulator (2023)
  7. Five Nights at Freddy’s Help Wanted
  8. Five Nights at Freddy’s: Special Delivery
  9. FNAF: Security Breach (between 2024 and 2029)

Spin-offs (non-canon)

  • Five Nights at Freddy’s World (2016)
  • FNAF: Special Delivery (2019)
  • Freddy in Space 2 (2019)
  • Security Breach: Fury’s Rage (2021)

Did you miss our previous article…