God of War games in order: By release date and timeline

God of War 2018 - Sony Interactive Entertainment

GOD of War is one most-loved gaming franchises around.

The series has gone from strength to strength since bursting onto the scene in 2005.

God of War creators refreshed the franchise with a Norse mythology storyline in 2018

But with eight titles under its belt, you might be struggling to keep up with where it all started.

So let’s take a look back.

God of War games release order

This is the full list of God of War games in the order they were released, right from the first one in 2005, through to the latest 2022 game.

  • God of War (2005)
  • God of War II (2007)
  • God of War: Chains of Olympus (2008)
  • God of War III (2010)
  • God of War: Ghost of Sparta (2010)
  • God of War: Ascension (2013)
  • God of War (2018)
  • God of War: Ragnarok (2022)

God of War timeline order

According to GuideFall, if you’re looking to experience Kratos’ story chronologically, you have to play the games out of sync from their release dates.

However, to do so, it will mean that you have to move between consoles, as two of the games are on portable devices.

They suggest the following order:

  • God of War: Ascension (2013)
  • God of War: Chains of Olympus (2008)
  • God of War (2005)
  • God of War: Ghost of Sparta (2010)
  • God of War II (2007)
  • God of War III (2010)
  • God of War (2018)
  • God of War: Ragnarok (2022)

God of War (2005)

The first ever God of War game introduces us to hack-and-slash style of the gameplay, and strategy elements.

But crucially, it’s where we meet tortured and complex protagonist, Kratos.

The PlayStation game is set in an alternate version of Ancient Greece and sees Kratos tasked with finding Pandora’s box – the key to defeating the God of War, Ares.

God of War II (2007)

The second instalment carries on from the narrative of the first, but with some vastly improved gameplay.

Story-wise, Kratos becomes the God of War after defeating Ares.

God of War: Chains of Olympus (2008)

Chains of Olympus is the first prequel to come God of War franchise.

It initially came out on the PSP, and later on PS3 as part of the God of War: Origins Collection.

God of War III (2010)

The fourth game – third in the original trilogy – offers a soul-searching end to Kratos’ journey.

After being betrayed by the Titaness Gaia, the Spartan-turned-god must battle through the depths of the Underworld on his quest to defeat Zeus.

God of War: Ghost of Sparta (2010)

This was the second God of War game on PSP, and was playable on PS3 the year following its release.

The story is set between the events of God of War I and II, see Kratos visiting the mythical underwater city of Atlantis.

God of War: Ascension (2013)

Ascension is the series’ seventh instalment and is the first chapter in Kratos’ story chronologically.

Already a servant of Ares, he is forced to escape imprisonment from the Furies and go on a journey to discover the truth behind his bond to the God of War.

God of War (2018)

The 2018 God of War release is more character driven, and sees players controlling an older, reflective Kratos, trying to teach his son how to fend for himself.

It features all the recognisable combat and puzzles, but moves away from the Ancient Greek world to Norse mythology.

It was also the first game in the series to be ported on to PC and was said to take 43 hours for 100 per cent completion.

God of War: Ragnarok (2022)

The latest game in the series sees Kratos and his precocious son Atreus return.

It follows right from the 2018 title, with a host of interesting new characters involved.

And best of all, it takes advantage of next-gen tech on the PS5.

You can read our full review on it here.


Did you miss our previous article…