Uncharted games in order: By release date and timeline


THE Uncharted series has gone from strength to strength since the first game was released in 2007.

It’s even been turned into a film featuring Mark Wahlberg and Tom Holland.

Uncharted games release order

Seven games have been released since the series’ debut Drake’s fortune.

So when were they released, and is there a timeline running through them?

Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune – PS3, 2007

The first game in the series dropped back in 2007.

While on the lookout for his friend, main protagonist Nathan “Nate” Drake travels along a secret path to El Dorado.

The highly successful games have been turned into a film featuring Mark Wahlberg and Tom Holland

It was praised for its production values which were compared to that of a summer blockbuster.

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves – PS3, 2009

The second game came out two years later that was bigger and introduced multiplayer gameplay.

IGN called it, “easily one of the best games on the system, blending fantastic presentation and visuals with gameplay that is practically second to none”.

Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception – PS3, 2011

In the third title in the series, Nate and fellow traveller Victor Sullivan are seeking out the Atlantis of the Sands.

It won Best PS3 Game at the Spike TV Video Game Awards 2011.

Uncharted: Golden Abyss – PS Vita, 2011

Golden Abyss is a prequel to Drake’s fortune, and follows Nate’s search of the lost city of Quivira.

He’s helped by archaeologist Marisa Chase and fellow treasure seeker Jason Dante.

Uncharted: Fight for Fortune – PS Vita, 2012

Fight for Fortune was a spin-off turn-based card game for PS Vita.

Gameplay revolves around building a faction from Uncharted characters to battle opponents with.

Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End – PS4, 2016

A Thief’s End is set three years after the end of Drake’s deception, and centres on his attempts to save his brother Samuel from a heartless tyrant.

Uncharted: Fortune Hunter – Android/iOS, 2016

Fortune Hunter is a mobile game developed by PlayStation Mobile Inc., assisted by series developer Naughty Dog.

It features over 200 levels, and is a companion title for A Thief’s End.

Uncharted: The Lost Legacy – PS4, 2017

The Lost Legacy is the latest game released in the series so far.

It’s set a few months after the end of A Thief’s End.

The main protagonists are Nadine Ross and Chloe Frazer, who are looking for the Tusk of Ganesh in India.

Uncharted timeline order

Not all games follow a linear narrative between titles.

The God of War series for example has to be played in a specific order to experience from it from the start of the story to its current ending.

If you’re looking to play the games as a linear story, here are all the games listed by chronological story order (excluding the mobile and PS Vita games which are puzzle and card-based games):

  • Uncharted: Golden Abyss
  • Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune
  • Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune
  • Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception
  • Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End
  • Uncharted: The Lost Legacy

Did you miss our previous article…