What is PlayStation Stars and what rewards can you get?


PLAYSTATION Stars is a new loyalty scheme for gamers.

It’s only recently begun rolling out around the world – so read on for all the details.

PlayStation Stars is finally here – but what actually is it?

What is PlayStation Stars?

Earlier this year, Sony announced a new loyalty scheme for PlayStation games.

It’s called PlayStation Stars and it launched first in Asia on September 29.

Next up camera the US launch on October 5, followed by a European, Australian and New Zealand launch on October 13.

Once you join PlayStation Stars, you can earn rewards by completing “campaigns and activities”.

“We hope this new program brings to mind past gaming memories while making you excited for the future with PlayStation,” said PlayStation’s Grace Chen.

“Commemorating the gaming eras we created together, charting new paths to explore, and bringing players together for global celebrations.

“This is just the beginning for PlayStation Stars, and the program will continue to evolve over time.

“We’re currently doing some early tests on this program before launching it later this year in phased regional rollouts.”

How do I join PlayStation Stars?

First, make sure it’s available in your region.

Asia and the US already have access, and European membership goes live on October 13.

It’s completely free to join on the PlayStation website here.

Once you’re a member, you’ll be able to earn loyalty points.

You’ll earn additional points when you make purchases on the PlayStation Store.

These points can then be redeemed in a catalogue.

What rewards can you get with PlayStation Stars?

Rewards can vary with PlayStation Stars.

For instance, you can redeem points and claim PSN wallet funds or select PlayStation Store products.

“Our ‘Monthly Check-In’ campaign simply requires you to play any game to receive a reward,” Chen explained.

“While other campaigns require you to win tournaments, earn specific trophies, or even be the first player to platinum a blockbuster title in your local time zone.”

There’s also a new type of reward called Digital Collectibles.

These will include figurines of iconic game characters – and some will be considered “ultra rare”.